Ani Aprahamian

Board Member SDSTA Board of Directors Appointed Date: Notre Dame University, Indiana

Dr. Ani Aprahamian is professor of experimental nuclear physics at the University of Notre Dame in Notre Dame, Indiana.

She also has served as the program director for nuclear physics and nuclear astrophysics at the National Science Foundation. She currently is the co-chair of the standing Nuclear Science Advisory Committee's Subcommittee on Isotope Production and Applications. She is also the chair of the Scientific Council of the Grand Accélérateur National d'Ions Lourds (GANIL) in Caen, France.

"The development of a deep underground laboratory holds tremendous promise and scientific discovery potential for the United States and will attract a large number of scientists to South Dakota,"  Aprahamian said when she was appointed to the SDSTA Board.

Aprahamian served as chair of the Physics Department at the University of Notre Dame. She was the principal investigator and director of the Nuclear Structure Laboratory for many years before she became program director for Nuclear Physics and Nuclear Astrophysics at the National Science Foundation. She returned to Notre Dame in 2008.

Aprahamian is currently a member of the Science Advisory Council to FRIB at NSCL, she has been a member of the users executive committees at Argonne and Oak Ridge National Laboratories, and the NSCL at Michigan State University. As a member of the Global Nuclear Forum, Aprahamian recognized the growing interest in the development of underground laboratory facilities worldwide.

She is a visiting scientist at Argonne National Laboratory, and previously held that position at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, GANIL, Los Alamos National Laboratory, University of Surrey in Guildford, UK, and at Institut Laue-Langevin in Grenoble, France. Aprahamian holds a doctorate from Clark University in Worcester, Mass.

Aprahamian is a former member of DOE/NSF Nuclear Science Advisory Committee and a Fellow of both the American Physical Society and the American Association for the Advancement of Science. She has received many scientific honors and awards, and has numerous widely published scientific papers on questions in nuclear structure and nuclear astrophysics.