Skip to main content
SURF Foundation

The Sanford Underground Research Facility (SURF) Foundation invites support for the advancement of underground science and its global impacts. Keeping with its mission, SURF develops resources to inspire future scientists, translates discovery to community audiences, creates spaces for collaboration and is now developing the Institute for Underground Science at SURF. The SURF Foundation fosters relationships to support these activities and provides opportunities for public contributions.

The SURF Foundation is managed by a volunteer Board of Directors. Through the Foundation, you can make your impact on the future – a future that is being studied and created right now. Any gift you make will be directly applied to the advancement of STEM, supporting research and curious minds.

Click here to make your contribution to the advancement of world-class science and inspiration for learning.

SURF Foundation Board of Directors

  • Julie Olson — SURF Foundation Board Chairperson, Spearfish, SD
  • Beth Massa — SURF Foundation Vice Chairperson, Rapid City, SD
  • Chris Fall — SURF Foundation Secretary/Treasurer, Arlington, VA
  • Fred Romkema — SURF Foundation Board Member, Spearfish, SD
  • Linn Evans — SURF Foundation Board Member, Rapid City, SD
  • Aurelia S. Giacometto — SURF Foundation Board Member, Washington, DC
  • Adam Gollofon — SURF Foundation Board Member, Bozeman, MT
  • Barbara Szczerbinska — SURF Foundation Board Member, Corpus Christi, TX
  • Justin Varland — SURF Foundation Board Member, Bend, OR
  • Bob Wilson — SURF Foundation Board Member, Fort Collins, CO
  • Casey Peterson — SURF Foundation Board Member - Ex-Officio, Rapid City, SD

Please contact Michelle Kane at (605) 584-3110 (ext. 4) if you wish to speak to a volunteer board member.

SURF Foundation Emeritus Board Members

  • Paul Christen, SURF Foundation Founding Board Member, June 2019-June 2021, Huron, SD
  • Dana Dykhouse — SURF Foundation Board Chairperson, June 2019-June 2022, Sioux Falls, SD

SURF Foundation Staff

Mike Headley
SDSTA Executive Director
(605) 722-4060

Michelle Kane
SURF Foundation Director
(605) 584-3110 (ext. 4)
Contact by email

Additional Information

SURF Foundation FAQ

More Information

Michelle Kane
SURF Foundation Director
(605) 584-3110
Contact by email
Gift Acceptance Policy
24.36 KB
330.96 KB
2022 Foundation Annual Report
11.09 MB